Image Map

Learn

Facebook Tip: Learn to Spot the Spammy Apps

by Freebies4Mom on February 25, 2011 8:04 pm

Look for these red flags that tell you an application on Facebook is likely going to spam your friends for you. It’s so easy to think these “look official” because they use brand names and high-quality graphics to make you think the offer comes directly from the company. I’ve learned this from first-hand experience, it’s easy to be fooled but you have to learn from the experience. If you accidentally approve a spammy app, remove it as soon as possible and check your wall for anything it may have posted for you so you can delete it.

Red Flag #1: Asks to “Access posts in my News Feed”

Don’t grant access to your news feed unless it’s needed for interacting with Facebook from another program (like Photobucket). You don’t want other people posting things for you without your knowledge. If you grant access and the application’s purpose is to spam, all of your friends will start receiving the same comment from you on their latest status update. These comments link directly to the application, encouraging more people to accept it creating a viral spamming campaign.

Red Flag #2: Question the Source, Is it Real?

You can’t tell by the name, that’s because the spammers use brand names to sound “official”. And you can’t tell by the graphics (it’s easy to make something look official with graphics). Go to the brand name’s official website, then get to their official Facebook page from their website. Is this offer posted on their official Fan page? If not, it’s probably not the real thing. I know there are some exceptions where the application looks spammy but is official (i.e. free product coupon for Pringles Xtreme). But it’s a great idea to wait until the official Fan page confirms that it’s a real offer (don’t hesitate to ask them).

Was this tip useful for you? Please tell me what other types of “Facebook Tips” you’d like to see from me and share your own tips!

Get more Facebook Tips from Freebies 4 Mom, and join over 110,000 fans

{ 8 comments }

Facebook Tip: Remove Applications You’ve Allowed

by Freebies4Mom on February 22, 2011 11:09 pm

Freebies and coupons available through Facebook are increasingly popular ways of promoting products. But they often require that you “allow” an application in order to access the form for the free sample request or coupon. So I want to show you how to remove that access, and why it’s usually safe to grant access in the first place.

Each application is slightly different, but you will see what type of access you are granting before you grant it. Personally I don’t have a problem with granting access to applications from brands and companies I’m familiar with because my Privacy Settings still apply and most applications never access any of my information (see below for an example of this). I’ve found that the applications that actually accessed my basic information were mostly sweepstakes entries on Facebook. I don’t recommend granting access to any and every application because some could be spammy (and there’s a way to report that to Facebook). I like to delete applications on a regular basis (about once a month) so that the access I’ve granted is only temporary.

Here’s my step-by-step guide (look for my yellow highlights):

Step 1: Go to your Facebook Account Page (look at the menu at the top right side)
Step 2: Click on Privacy Settings from the pull-down menu

Step 3: Look at the bottom left to click on Edit Your Settings under “Apps and Websites”Step 4: Click on Edit Settings to view all applications you’ve granted access to
Step 5: Click on an application to see what permissions you’ve granted it, and see when the last data access was (most never access data as highlighted in yellow below)
Step 6: Select Remove app to delete it (or just click the “X” in your list of applications)

Was this tip useful for you? Please tell me what other types of “Facebook Tips” you’d like to see from me?

Get more Facebook Tips from Freebies 4 Mom

{ 31 comments }

Facebook Tip: Get Your Newsfeed Back

by Freebies4Mom on February 12, 2011 6:00 am

Facebook is filtering your Newsfeed for you, and you probably didn’t even know it (but you might like your old Newsfeed back)! This might be the reason some of my fans are suddenly missing their Freebies 4 Mom Facebook updates. The default setting is to only show the “Friends and pages you interact with most” and maybe you like that setting. I don’t know how they measure “most”. But I want to see everyone I’m friends with plus all the pages I’ve “Liked” (and maybe you do too).

I wanted to share how to fix it so that you will see ALL of your friends and ALL of the pages you “Like” in your Newsfeed.  Thanks goes to Rose Knows Coupons and MoJo Savings for making me aware of the fix to this Facebook change. Here’s my step-by-step guide (because it’s not an obvious settings change until you do it):

1. Go to your Facebook Home Page (get to it from anywhere in Facebook by looking at the menu at the top right side)

2. Click on Most Recent (at the top right of your Newsfeed) to get a pull-down menu

3. Click on Edit Options (last in the pull-down menu)

4. Click on Friends and pages you interact with most to get a pull-down menu with the other option

5. Click on All of your friends and pages if you want to see everyone on your wall and not let Facebook filter it for you. You will still have the option to “Hide” specific friends or fan pages.

6. Select the Save button to save your new settings

*****************************************************************************

Was this tip useful for you? Would you like to see more “Facebook Tips” from me?

Get more Tips from Freebies 4 Mom

{ 18 comments }

Freebies Prizes Deals Money As Seen On Subscribe